The Illinois State Police have revoked the certification of a Bolingbrook firearms instructor who was found to be offering concealed carry classes over the Internet.

According to state law, students must have 16 hours of in-person classroom instruction before being allowed to apply for a concealed carry permit, said State Police spokeswoman Monique Bond. In addition, the instructor was offering as few as eight hours of instruction, Bond said.

A total of 327 applicants trained by the instructor will be notified that their application has been denied due to improper training.

Those applicants will have the opportunity to take the course again with a different instructor without paying another $150 application fee; they also will be allowed to appeal the denial by submitting a written petition through the State Police’s administrative review process.

Police are turning their findings over to the Will County State’s Attorney’s Office to help determine if sanctions against the firearms instructors are appropriate.

To date, 13 firearms instructors have lost their state certification to teach Illinois Concealed Carry curricula, and 425 applicants have been notified of invalid training, according to a news release issued by the State Police.

A list of more than 2,700 certified firearms instructors can be found on the state police concealed carry website.