clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Big Ten announces football award winners, all-conference teams

The Big Ten announced its individual award winners and all-conference teams on Monday. Coaches and league media picked separate first and second teams and honorable-mention lists; coaches and select media voted on the individual awards.


Quarterback of the year: J.T. Barrett, Ohio State.

Receiver of the year: Tony Lippett, Michigan State.

Running back of the year: Melvin Gordon, Wisconsin.

Tight end of the year: Maxx Williams, Minnesota.

Offensive lineman of the year: Brandon Scherff, Iowa.

Defensive lineman of the year: Joey Bosa, Ohio State.

Linebacker of the year: Mike Hull, Penn State.

Defensive back of the year: Kurtis Drummond, Michigan State.

Kicker of the year: Brad Craddock, Maryland.

Punter of the year: Peter Mortell, Minnesota.


• Only three players were unanimous first-teamers: Barrett (media), Gordon (coaches) and Bosa (both). Which means at least one coach didn’t pick Barrett as the league’s top QB and at least one media member didn’t pick Gordon as one of the league’s top two RBs. In a word: Ridiculous.

• Michigan State led the way with five players — Lippett, offensive lineman Jack Allen, defensive lineman Shilique Calhoun and defensive backs Drummond and Trae Waynes — on both the media’s and coaches’ first teams. Minnesota also had five players on the media team, and the coaches tabbed four Ohio State players.

• Not surprisingly, both Northwestern and Illinois were poorly represented.

Two Wildcats drew second-team recognition: defensive back Ibraheim Campbell from the coaches and defensive back Nick VanHoose from the media.

Illinois punter Justin DuVernois was on both second teams, and freshman wideout Mike Dudek was a media second-teamer.

Each school had three players who were named honorable mention by both the media and coaches: Northwestern’s Chi Chi Ariguzo, Brandon Vitabile and Dan Vitale, and Illinois’ V’Angelo Bentley, Teddy Karras and Mason Monheim.

Find the complete 2014 all-Big Ten teams here.


Twitter: @slgreenberg