clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Bob Dylan to release Frank Sinatra album next year

It’s been rumored for a number of months, but now Bob Dylan has confirmed he will release a new album featuring 10 songs popularized by Frank Sinatra, including “Autumn Leaves,” “Some Enchanted Evening” “The Night We Called It a Day” and “I’m a Fool to Want You.” The CD will be in stores Feb. 3.

In a statement, the music legend said, “It was a real privilege to make this album. I’ve wanted to do something like this for a long time but was never brave enough to approach 30-piece complicated arrangements and refine them down for a five-piece band. That’s the key to all these performances.

“We knew these songs extremely well. It was all done live. Maybe one or two takes. No overdubbing. No vocal booths. No headphones. No separate tracking and, for the most part, mixed as it was recorded. I don’t see myself as covering these songs in any way. They’ve been covered enough. Buried, as a matter a fact. What me and my band are basically doing is uncovering them. Lifting them out of the grave and bringing them into the light of day.”

Here’s the track list for “Shadows in the Night”:

1. “I’m a Fool to Want You”

2. “The Night We Called It a Day”

3. “Stay With Me”

4. “Autumn Leaves”

5. “Why Try to Change Me Now”

6. “Some Enchanted Evening”

7. “Full Moon and Empty Arms”

8. “Where Are You?

9. “What’ll I Do”

10. “That Lucky Old Sun”