Two playwrights familiar to Chicago among Whiting Awards winners

SHARE Two playwrights familiar to Chicago among Whiting Awards winners

On Friday, the New York-based Whiting Foundation announced 10 recipients of the Whiting Award, the prize given to emerging artists of exceptional promise. Four poets, three fiction writers and an essayist are among the winners, each of whom will receive $50,000.

The award, created 30 years ago by Flora Ettlinger Whiting — a New York investor, collector, and philanthropist with a lifelong commitment to culture — has previously been given to such writers as Jonathan Franzen, Tony Kushner and David Foster Wallace, among others.

The 2015 honorees include two playwrights whose work has been produced recently in Chicago: Lucas Hnath (whose “Isaac’s Eye” was staged by Writers Theatre and “Death Tax” was staged by Lookingglass Theatre), and Anne Washburn (whose “Mr. Burns: a post-electric play” is running through March 22 at Theater Wit).

The other award recipients are poets Anthony Carelli, Jenny Johnson, Aracelis Girmay and Roger Reeve; fiction writers Leopoldine Core, Azareen Van der Vliet Oloomi and Dan Josefson; and essayist Elena Passarello.

The Latest
Capt. Brian Gentile had kids bring the magic again for big Chinook on Storm Warning Charters out of Burnham Harbor.
LAFC won both the Supporters’ Shield and the MLS Cup last fall, but fell short of an unprecedented treble for an MLS club.
Craig pitched for three championship teams during his major league career and then managed the San Francisco Giants to the 1989 World Series that was interrupted by a massive earthquake.
Calls to 311 for shelter have surged since migrants began arriving here by the busload, the third such surge since 2019. Fixing the overburdened system will be a tough test for Mayor Johnson’s administration.
A bipartisan majority in Congress passed the Clean Water Act in 1972 because rivers were on fire, fish were dying, and Lake Erie was labeled “functionally dead.” The Supreme Court should not be allowed to rewrite the Act and ignore 45 years of practices to protect the environment and public health.