clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

CNN GOP debate: Here’s the 11 who made the cut

WASHINGTON — CNN announced on Thursday evening the names of the 11 presidential hopefuls who will be at the main Sept. 16 Republican debate at the Reagan Presidential Library in Simi Valley, California.

It’s the same group of 10 who were at the top tier first GOP debate last month in Cleveland, plus Carly Fiorina, whose protests pressured CNN to reconsider the polls it used to determine who would be on the stage for the main event.

The 11: Donald Trump, Jeb Bush, Scott Walker, Ben Carson, Ted Cruz, Marco Rubio, Mike Huckabee, Rand Paul, John Kasich, Chris Christie and Carly Fiorina.

The top 11 start at 8 p.m. Eastern time.

The five contenders with the weakest poll numbers will debate starting at 6 p.m. Eastern time.

The bottom 5: Rick Perry, Bobby Jindal, Rick Santorum, George Pataki and Lindsey Graham. Former Virginia Gov. Jim Gilmore, barely registering in any poll, did not make the cut.

Politico’s story is HERE.