clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Northwestern - The true NCAA football champions

Northwestern offensive lineman Eric Olson (76) gestures after beating Stanford 16-6 in an NCAA college football game in Evanston, Ill., Saturday, Sept. 5, 2015. (AP Photo/Matt Marton)

When the NCAA made the switch from the BCS era to the College Football Playoff, it was supposed to end the drama surrounding who would make the cut. Of course, all it actually did was change the debate from who deserves to be No. 2 to who deserves to be No. 4.

In the BCS era, teams could use mental gymnastics to come to the conclusion that they were national champions despite never playing in the title game. Using those same gymnastics, Northwestern fans can start planning a parade.

That’s right, by using the transitive property, the Northwestern Wildcats are the true national champions. Sorry Alabama, your win over Clemson means nothing here.

It’s got to make sense, right?

Sure, Northwestern lost to Tennessee, who lost to Alabama. They also lost to Iowa, who lost to Michigan State, who was blown out by Alabama. But those are just small details.

[iframe src=”” frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>]