Cubs are first team to win 3 BBWAA awards since 2001 Mariners

SHARE Cubs are first team to win 3 BBWAA awards since 2001 Mariners

Make it three-for-three.

The Cubs have made a clean sweep of the Baseball Writers Association of America awards so far, with three winners in three days.

On Monday, Kris Bryant was named NL Rookie of the Year. On Tuesday, Joe Maddon was named NL Manger of the Year and tonight Jake Arrieta was awarded the NL Cy Young.

15 photos that prove Joe Maddon is no ordinary manager No team has ever won all four BBWAA awards (ROY, MOY, CY, MVP) in the same season, and the Cubs won’t change that when the MVP is announced Thursday night (No Cubs are among the three NL finalists).

Cubs’ Jake Arrieta wins Cy Young, sets sights on 2016What the Cubs have done, is become the 13th team in MLB history to win three of the four awards, and the first since the 2001 Mariners.

In that season, Ichiro Suzuki won both the MVP and Rookie of the Year, and former Cubs manager Lou Piniella took home Manger of the Year.

Seattle finished an astonishing 116-46, and is still considered to be one of the greatest teams not to win the World Series.

The Cubs last accomplished the feat in 1984, when Ryne Sandberg won MVP, Rick Sutcliffe won the Cy Young and Jim Frey won Manager of the Year. Chicago finished with 96 wins and lost to the Padres in the NLCS.

The only other team to win Rookie of the Year, Manager of the Year and the Cy Young in the same season was the 1983 White Sox.

Jake Arrieta’s 13 best games of 2015

The Latest
Upbeat documentary draws from archives and interviews to profile ambitious artist determined to show how funky and strong was his skill.
Daryl Hall, in a court filing, accuses musical partner John Oates of moving to sell his share of the team’s joint venture. A court hearing is scheduled for Thursday.
Authorities suspect the woman was the victim of a homicide. Her body was found early Wednesday by the side of a road in Old Mill Creek.
A 22-year-old man was in a parking lot in the 8700 block of South Lafayette Avenue when he was struck by gunfire about 5:10 p.m. Wednesday police said.