List of Democrats boycotting State of the Union address

SHARE List of Democrats boycotting State of the Union address

FILE - In this Feb. 28, 2017, file photo, President Donald Trump addresses a joint session of Congress on Capitol Hill in Washington. Trump will deliver his first State of the Union address on Tuesday, Jan. 30, 2018. (AP Photo/J. Scott Applewhite, File) ORG XMIT: WX102

At least 12 Democratic members of Congress plan to boycott President Donald Trump’s first State of the Union address Tuesday.

Here in Illinois, three House Democrats — Bobby Rush, Danny Davis and Jan Schakowsky — are boycotting the speech, Lynn Sweet reported.

Here is a list of lawmakers who said they would not be attending:


  • Rep. Maxine Waters


  • Rep. Federica Wilson


  • Rep. John Lewis


  • Rep. Danny Davis

  • Rep. Bobby Rush
  • Rep. Jan Schakowsky



  • Rep. Gregory Meeks


  • Rep. Earl Blumenauer


  • Rep. Pramila Jayapal

The Latest
Morel hit a two-run homer in the victory against the Reds on Wednesday after Cubs manager David Ross moved him to the bottom of the batting order.
It’s unclear if Griffin will continue his heavy spending in Illinois politics after he and his Citadel hedge fund have packed up and left for Miami. But what was obvious was that his latest big bet on elections in this state was a big failure, up and down the ballot.
Rubber game of series “important for us going into the day off, going to San Francisco,” manager Tony La Russa said.
The brothers, all under the age of 12, were stuck in a basement apartment Sunday as it went up in flames.