clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Bears land four on NFL’s All-Decade Team

Two rush the passer and two return kicks.

Kansas City Chiefs v Chicago Bears
Devin Hester, seen on the field before the Bears-Chiefs game in December, was named to the NFL’s all-decade team.
Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images

Four Bears were named to the NFL’s All-Decade Team for the 2010s on Monday.

Two rush the passer, and two return kicks.

Two current Bears — outside linebacker Khalil Mack and return man Cordarrelle Patterson — were joined by former defensive end Julius Peppers and former return man Devin Hester, both of whom are retired, on the list.

Hester, who played for the Bears in 2006-13, is the greatest return man in NFL history. In 11 seasons, he had an NFL-record 20 returns for touchdowns: 14 on punts, five on kickoffs and one on a missed field goal.

Patterson just finished his first season with the Bears. He made the Pro Bowl as a specialist, honoring his contributions on punt coverage and kick returns.

Peppers played for the Bears in 2010-13, totaling 37 1/2 sacks and making three Pro Bowls with them. He started his career with the Panthers and ended it with them, too, retiring after the 2018 season. He spent three seasons with the Packers after leaving the Bears.

Mack, who was drafted in 2014, was acquired by the Bears in a trade with the Raiders before the 2018 season. He has 21 sacks in two seasons in Chicago and 61 1/2 overall.

Peppers and Hester also made the All-Decade Team for the 2000s, which was announced 10 years ago.

View this post on Instagram

2nd Decade in a row!!!! ✌

A post shared by Anytime (@devin_d_hester_23) on

The NFL and the Pro Football Hall of Fame named 53 players and two coaches to the All-Decade Team.

The Hall of Fame’s 48-person selection committee named eight unanimous selections: quarterback Tom Brady, defensive lineman Aaron Donald, outside linebacker Von Miller, running back Adrian Peterson, offensive tackle Joe Thomas, kicker Justin Tucker, defensive end J.J. Watt and guard Marshal Yanda.

The full list is below:


QB: Tom Brady, Aaron Rodgers

RB: Frank Gore, Marshawn Lynch, LeSean McCoy, Adrian Peterson

WR: Antonio Brown, Larry Fitzgerald, Calvin Johnson, Julio Jones

FLEX: Darren Sproles

TE: Rob Gronkowski, Travis Kelce

T: Jason Peters, Tyron Smith, Joe Staley, Joe Thomas

G: Jahri Evans, Logan Mankins, Zack Martin, Marshal Yanda

C: Alex Mack, Maurkice Pouncey


DE: Calais Campbell, Cameron Jordan, Julius Peppers, J.J. Watt

DT: Geno Atkins, Fletcher Cox, Aaron Donald, Ndamukong Suh

LB: Chandler Jones, Luke Kuechly, Khalil Mack, Von Miller, Bobby Wagner, Patrick Willis

CB: Patrick Peterson, Darrelle Revis, Richard Sherman

S: Eric Berry, Earl Thomas, Eric Weddle

DB: Chris Harris Jr., Tyrann Mathieu

Special teams

P: Johnny Hekker, Shane Lechler

K: Stephen Gostkowski, Justin Tucker

PR: Tyreek Hill, Darren Sproles

KR: Devin Hester, Cordarrelle Patterson


Bill Belichick, Pete Carroll