clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

WATCH: Joel Quenneville loses his mind after goal waved off

Head coach Joel Quenneville of the Chicago Blackhawks yells instructions to his team during a game against the Nashville Predators at the United Center on January 12, 2016 in Chicago, Illinois. (Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images)

Officials waved off Marian Hossa’s first-period goal Thursday night after determining that Hossa interfered with Arizona goaltender Louis Domingue before the puck crossed the goal line.

Blackhawks coach Joel Quenneville? Well, let’s just say he disagreed.

Joel Quenneville disagreed with the “no goal call” by the zebras #Coyotes #NHL pic.twitter.com/duPvyafZfZ

— Ronnie Laybold (@YotesHereToStay) February 5, 2016

Check out the goal. There was contact, although it appeared to be minimal.

Hossa with the games first goal. A thank you card should be sent to former Hawk Klas Dahlbach for the redirect. pic.twitter.com/VVUZXWg1ID

— Blackhawks Breakdown (@HawksBreakdown) February 5, 2016

Here’s how the NHL explained the ruling:

“At 15:40 of the first period in the Blackhawks/Coyotes game, Arizona requested a Coach’s Challenge to review whether Marian Hossa interfered with goaltender Louis Domingue before the puck entered the net.

The Referee determined that Hossa interfered with Domingue before the puck crossed the goal line. According to Rule 78.7, “The standard for overturning the call in the event of a ‘GOAL’ call on the ice is that the Referee, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to ‘Interference on the Goalkeeper,’ as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4.”

Therefore the original call is overturned – no goal Chicago Blackhawks.”

Stats via ESPN