Our Pledge To You

Books

5 new books getting good buzz, including follow-up to ‘The Wife Between Us’

Oyinkan Braithwaite’s debut novel “My Sister, the Serial Killer” offers exactly what the title promises.

Oyinkan Braithwaite’s debut novel “My Sister, the Serial Killer” offers exactly what the title promises. | Provided photo

Here are four brand-new books and one that’s been out for more than a month that have gotten good buzz and advance reviews.

‘An Anonymous Girl’ by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen

What it’s about: Jessica Farris sneaks in to a psychology study but finds herself trapped by Dr. Shields, a master manipulator, in “An Anonymous Girl” (St. Martin’s Press, $27.99), the new novel by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen.

The buzz: “Girl” is the follow-up to the authors’ “The Wife Between Us,” a best-seller last year.

‘The First Conspiracy’ by Brad Meltzer and Josh Mensch

What it’s about: Working with documentary producer Josh Mensch, best-selling thriller writer Brad Meltzer turns to nonfiction with “The First Conspiracy: The Secret Plot to Kill George Washington” (Flatiron, $35.99), a look at a little-known treasonous plot by Washington’s bodyguards in 1776.

The buzz: “A lively political thriller,” Kirkus Reviews says.

‘Freefall’ by Jessica Barry

What it’s about: “Freefall” (Harper, $27.99) is a thriller about a young woman who, after surviving a plane crash in the Colorado Rockies, must navigate harsh terrain while evading adversaries who want her dead.

The buzz: “Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty,” Publishers Weekly says. It’s also an “Indie Next” pick of independent booksellers.

‘My Sister, the Serial Killer’ by Oyinkan Braithwaite

What it’s about: Oyinkan Braithwaite’s debut novel “My Sister, the Serial Killer” (Doubleday, $22.95) offers exactly what the title promises. Korede, a nurse in Lagos, Nigeria, has a capricious, Instagram-obsessed sister named Ayoola, and Ayoola is a serial killer. Until now, it’s been Korede who has had to clean up after her. Then, Ayoola gets a doctor in her sights — a doctor Korede is desperately in love with.

The buzz: It’s been compared to Muriel Spark and Gillian Flynn.

‘The Clean Plate: Eat, Reset, Heal’ by Gwyneth Paltrow

What it’s about: In “The Clean Plate: Eat, Reset, Heal” (Grand Central Life & Style, $35), Gwyneth Paltrow, the actress and self-styled lifestyle guru, offers more than 100 recipes — among them one for Kimchi Chicken Lettuce Cups — plus recommended “cleanses” and “detoxes.”

The buzz: This cookbook focuses on “clean eating.”

Read more at USA Today.