clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Bernanke confirmed to second term on 70-30 vote

WASHINGTON–The Senate voted to confirm Ben S. Bernanke to a second term as chairman of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System on a 70-30 vote.

Ten Democrats broke from the Obama administration and voted against Bernanke, making it a true bi-partisan vote–rare these days. Illinois Democratic Senators Dick Durbin and Roland Burris voted for confirmation.

The 30 no votes

Begich (D-AK)

Boxer (D-CA)

Brownback (R-KS)

Bunning (R-KY)

Cantwell (D-WA)

Cornyn (R-TX)

Crapo (R-ID)

DeMint (R-SC)

Dorgan (D-ND)

Ensign (R-NV)

Feingold (D-WI)

Franken (D-MN)

Grassley (R-IA)

Harkin (D-IA)

Hutchison (R-TX)

Inhofe (R-OK)

Kaufman (D-DE)

LeMieux (R-FL)

McCain (R-AZ)

Merkley (D-OR)

Risch (R-ID)

Roberts (R-KS)

Sanders (I-VT)

Sessions (R-AL)

Shelby (R-AL)

Specter (D-PA)

Thune (R-SD)

Vitter (R-LA)

Whitehouse (D-RI)

Wicker (R-MS)