clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Richard Dent into the Pro Football Hall of Fame

He’s been forced to be patient, but Bears defensive end Richard Dent will be inducted into the Pro Football of Fame.

He will joined in the 2011 Class by Marshall Faulk, Chris Hanburger, Les Richter, Ed Sabol, Deion Sanders, and Shannon Sharpe.

An eighth round pick, Dent established himself as one of the league’s best defensive ends ever. He finished his career with 137 1/2 sacks, behind only Reggie White and Bruce Smith.

Dent was a four-time Pro Bowl selection and the MVP of Super Bowl XX, tallying two sacks and two forced fumbles.

The Bears have 27 players in the Pro Football Hall of Fame, more than any other NFL club.