The competition committee will not amend the rule that prevented Calvin Johnson’s apparent game-winning touchdown against the Bears in the season opener, according to separate reports.
The rule, which requires receivers to maintain possession throughout the catch, resulted in Johnson’s 25-yard touchdown catch with 18 seconds left being overturned on review.
“That play will still be incomplete,”Giants president and competition committee member John Mara told “Newsday,” via profootballtalk.com. NFL Network is also reporting that the rule will stand despite sparking debate for days and weeks afterwards.
If you’ll recall, Johnson controlled the ball when he went down in the end zone, and had two feet and his left hand inbounds. His right hand lost control of the ball when it hit the ground.
“If you read the rule, it’s not a catch,”Mara said told the paper. “The reason it’s not a catch is you’ve got to control the ball when you hit the ground. It makes it easier to officiate. It’s a bright line that you can draw.”