clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Oscars to honor Angelina Jolie, Angela Lansbury & Steve Martin

Angela Lansbury, Steve Martin and fashion designer Piero Tosi — three Oscar nominees who never won an Academy Award — will receive honorary Oscars from the Motion Picture Academy at the annual Governors Awards ceremony this fall.

The Academy also announced Thursday that Oscar winner Angelina Jolie will receive the prestigious Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award for her well-known advocacy of international humanitarian causes, including the Prevent Sexual Violence Initiative and her work for the Council on Foreign Relations and the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees.

In announcing the awards for Lansbury, Martin and Tosi, Academy president Cheryl Boone Isaacs said it was to “celebrate their extraordinary achievements.”

Lansbury has received three Oscar nominations during her long career — for her supporting roles in “Gaslight” (1944), “The Picture of Dorian Gray” (1945) and “The Manchurian Candidate” (1962).

Martin, who has hosted the Academy Awards three times, wrote and starred in the 1977 Oscar-nominated short film, “The Absent-Minded Waiter.” The multi-talented actor, writer, comedian and musician starred on “Saturday Night Live” and has appeared in many films, including “The Jerk,” “Three Amigos,” “L.A. Story,” “The Pink Panther” series, “Parenthood” and “Father of the Bride.”

Tosi was a long-time collaborator with Italian director Luchino Visconti and received best costume Oscar nominations for Visconti’s films “The Leopard,” “Death in Venice,” and “Ludwig,” as well as “La Cage aux Folles” and “La Traviata.”

All four honorary Oscars will be presented at the Governors Awards ceremony, Nov. 16 at the Ray Dolby Ballroom in Hollywood.