Our Pledge To You


Chicago mayoral money-tracker: Ken Griffin’s $1M pushes Bill Daley over $7M

Scroll below for a map and database of campaign contributions in the 2019 Chicago mayoral race.

Scroll below for a map and database of campaign contributions in the 2019 Chicago mayoral race.

Thanks to the $1 million contribution that Illinois’ wealthiest man, Ken Griffin, gave him, Bill Daley’s mayoral campaign fund-raising has now topped $7 million, which provided his opponents with plenty of fodder to criticize him.

The $7.25 million that Daley has raised is more than $3 million more than Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle, who’s No. 2 in fundraising in the mayoral race at $4.12 million.

Daley said the money he’s raised reflects support for his pledge to freeze property taxes, saying that “speaks to the financial burden residents are feeling.” More than $3 million of his contributions, though, have come from outside Chicago, including $1.55 million from out-of-state.

Susana Mendoza jumped at the chance to call Daley “Bruce Rauner’s mayor” — Griffin had given Rauner’s campaign $36 million.

Mendoza has gotten more money from small donors — those giving $150 or less — than Daley, though they still account for just 0.2 percent of the money she’s raised. For Preckwinkle, the figure is 0.6 percent.

Lori Lightfoot has a more significant small-donor base: 8 percent of her campaign chest has come from those contributing $150 or less.

Among notable contributions reported in the past week, Preckwinkle’s top donor was the Service Employees Local #1 PEC, which gave her about $50,000. Mendoza got $100,000 from LiUNA Chicago Laborers’ District Council PAC.

Jim Frank, the executive chairman of Wheels fleet management in Des Plaines, gave Gery Chico $75,000. Frank also has given $25,000 each to Daley and Mendoza.

Lightfoot got $20,000 from retiree Peter Phillips and $10,000 from Mark Aistrope, CEO of Meeting Tomorrow, an AV equipment-rental company.

Here are the top mayoral fundraisers, based on what’s reported to the Illinois State Board of Elections. These figures, updated every Friday, might not include contributions under $1,000, which are required to be reported only on a quarterly basis.

1. Bill Daley, $7.25 million

2. Toni Preckwinkle, $4.12 million

3. Gery Chico, $2.95 million

4. Susana Mendoza, $2.48 million

5. Jerry Joyce, $2.07 million

6. Willie Wilson, $1.66 million

7. Lori Lightfoot, $1.43 million

8. Garry McCarthy, $1.29 million

9. Paul Vallas, $1.05 million

10. Bob Fioretti, $675,175

Included on this page are:

• Dorothy Brown, clerk of the Circuit Court of Cook County.
• Gery Chico, who ran in 2011 and was a chief of staff to former Mayor Richard M. Daley.
• Bill Daley, Richard M. Daley’s brother and a former chief of staff to President Barack Obama.
• Amara Enyia, director of the Austin Chamber of Commerce.
• LaShawn Ford, a state representative.
• Ja’Mal Green, an activist in Chicago’s Black Lives Matter movement.
• Jerry Joyce, a former assistant Cook County state’s attorney and son of a clout-heavy Chicago politico.
• William Kelly, a television producer.
• John Kozlar, a two-time aldermanic candidate.
• Troy LaRaviere, a former CPS principal who shut down his mayoral bid in November.
• Lori Lightfoot, attorney and former president of the Chicago Police Board.
• Garry McCarthy, a former Chicago police superintendent under Mayor Rahm Emanuel.
• Susana Mendoza, who won re-election in November as Illinois state comptroller.
• Toni Preckwinkle, Cook County Board president, also chairs the county’s Democratic Party.
• Neal Sales-Griffin, an entrepreneur and educator.
• Paul Vallas, a former Chicago Public Schools CEO.
• Willie Wilson, a businessman.


• To get our daily rundown of Illinois political events by email, sign up here.
• List of Chicago candidates for mayor

Choose a candidate below to see where their money is coming from, including by ZIP code within the city of Chicago. A searchable database of all contributions filed with the Illinois State Board of Elections is below the map.