Illinois’ senators: How they voted on military sex assault bill

SHARE Illinois’ senators: How they voted on military sex assault bill

Earlier today, the Senate blocked a bill that would move authority to prosecute sexual assault cases from military commanders to lawyers.

How did Illinois’ senators vote? Dick Durbin (D) voted Yea. Mark Kirk (R) voted Nay.

According to Politico, Kirk was lobbied by Gillibrand right up until the vote and had previously indicated support for the bill. He reportedly changed his mind after hearing arguments from Senator Kelly Ayotte (R-N.H.).

“I wanted to make sure the captain of a ship is really the captain of the whole ship,” Kirk said.

A more modest bill was passed later in the day. Both senators voted to advance it. It will be up for a final vote on Monday.

The Latest
The men were in the 600 block of West Barry Avenue, police said. Two were in good condition and one was in serious condition.
The 26-year-old man was shot in the back while leaving a gas station in the 500 block of East 67th Street, police said.
“We just want justice for him, and we just want his name to be remembered,” said Nicole D’Vignon, the mother of Nicolaus Cooper who was gunned down in March in Chicago Heights.
After 22 years working at the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, I’m only starting to understand and appreciate the true meaning of this day, the director of Hines VA Hospital writes.
The American Battle Monuments Commission, celebrating its centennial this year, is the caretaker of 26 burial grounds and 32 monuments and memorials on five continents.