Our Pledge To You


Jewish leaders meet with Obama on Iran deal

WASHINGTON — President Barack Obama met with leaders of the nation’s most influential Jewish organizations on Tuesday, part of his push to win congressional approval for the Iran nuclear deal.

The organizations included AIPAC, which is mounting a major lobbying effort against the agreement, and J Street, which is supporting it.

Alan Solow,the Chicago attorney who is the former chairman of the Conference of Presidents of Major American Jewish Organizations — and a backer of the deal — was also at the meeting.

From the White House: Today in the Cabinet Room of the White House, the President met with American Jewish community leaders to discuss the deal with Iran – reached along with our international partners – that would verifiably prevent and prohibit Iran from acquiring a nuclear weapon. This meeting was the latest in a series that the President and senior administration officials have held with the Jewish community to underscore the importance of this historic deal and highlight the Administration’s continued and unprecedented support for our ally, Israel.

Participants in Tuesday’s meeting included:
· Michael Kassen, AIPAC
· Lee Rosenberg, AIPAC
· Kenneth Bob, AmeinuJason Isaacson, American Jewish Committee
· Marvin Nathan, Anti-Defamation League
· Steve Greenberg, Conference of Presidents
· Malcolm Hoenlein, Conference of Presidents
· Jerry Silverman, Jewish Federations of North America
· Susan Turnbull, Jewish Council for Public Affairs
· Jeremy Ben-Ami, J Street
· Alexandra Stanton, J Street
· Greg Rosenbaum, National Jewish Democratic Council
· Nathan Diament, Orthodox Union
· Rabbi William Gershon, Rabbinical Assembly
· Rabbi Jonah Pesner, Reform Movement
· The Honorable Robert Wexler, S. Daniel Abraham Center for Middle East Peace
· John Ruskay, S. Daniel Abraham Center for Middle East Peace
· Alisa Doctoroff, UJA-Federation of New York
· Robert Singer, World Jewish Congress
· Alan Solow, Chicago community leader
· Gary Torgow, Michigan community leader
· Andrew Weinstein, South Florida community leader
· Fredrick Schaufeld, Washington, D.C. community leader