Angels DH C.J. Cron gets a rare double-hit against the White Sox
Subscribe for unlimited digital access.
Try one month for $1!
Subscribe for unlimited digital access. Try one month for $1!
Getting a hit in Major League Baseball is hard enough to do normally, hitting one pitch twice is seemingly impossible.
Monday night during the White Sox game against the Angels, DH C.J. Cron found a way to pull it off in the fourth inning facing Carlos Rodon.
Here's Cron double-hitting that Rodon cutter. Wish the Sox had good slo-mo cameras in their broadcast arsenal. pic.twitter.com/QgBiijNwOB
— South Side Sox (@SouthSideSox) August 18, 2015
The ball can clearly be seen hitting the bat twice, sending it down the left field line. Cron’s single would not hurt the White Sox in the end, as Rodon worked a ground ball out by the next batter.
If caught, Cron would have been ruled out. A batter is not allowed to touch the ball twice with the bat. The only situation where it would be legal is if the bat had broken. A situation like that happened three years ago during the NLCS with Hunter Pence at bat.