Harrelson, Hughes named finalists for Frick Award

SHARE Harrelson, Hughes named finalists for Frick Award

Ken Harrelson.

The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum today announced that White Sox television play-by-play announcer Ken “Hawk” Harrelson and Cubs radio announcer Pat Hughes are among eight finalists for the 2017 Ford C. Frick Award, which is presented for excellence in baseball broadcasting.

Harrelson, 75, and Hughes, 61 are joined by Mets broadcaster Gary Cohen, former Expos broadcaster Jacques Doucet, A’s broadcaster Bill King, Giants broadcaster Mike Krukow, former Red Sox broadcaster Ned Martin and Rays broadcaster Dewayne Staats as the eight finalists.

“It is extremely humbling to even be considered within the company of the top broadcasters in our game, let alone a finalist for the prestigious Ford C. Frick Award,” Harrelson said in a statement released by the Sox. “Nothing gives me more enjoyment than sharing the game of baseball with White Sox fans each season. Baseball is the greatest game there is, and it would certainly be the ultimate honor to be recognized among some if the great voices of the game in Cooperstown.”

Harrelson was a finalist in 2007 and 2014. He completed his 31st season in the Sox booth, taking on a lighter schedule by primarily doing road games only. Hughes competed his 21st season with the Cubs after calling games for the Brewers for 12 seasons.

The Hall of Fame selected only major-league, team-specific broadcasters based on commitment to excellence, quality of broadcasting abilities, reverence within the game, popularity with fans and recognition by peers. Candidates, active or retired, must have a minimum of 10 years of continuous major league broadcast service with a ball club, network or a combination of the two.


Pat Hughes.

Final voting for the 2017 Frick Award will be conducted by a 17-member committee, comprised of the 13 living Frick Award recipients and four broadcast historians/columnists, including David J. Halberstam(historian),Barry Horn(Dallas Morning News),Ted Patterson(historian) andCurt Smith(historian). Past living Frick honorees include:Marty Brennaman,Dick Enberg, Jaime Jarrin,Tony Kubek,Denny Matthews,Tim McCarver,Jon Miller,Eric Nadel, Felo Ramirez,Vin Scully,Bob Uecker, Dave Van HorneandBob Wolff.

The winner will be announced December 5 at the 2016 Winter Meetings in National Harbor, Md. Induction ceremonies are July 30, 2017 in Cooperstown, N.Y.

The Latest
Johnson and Toews lived with each other last season and developed a close if unlikely friendship. As Johnson tries to expand his NHL skill set beyond simply hitting, observing Toews’ habits has provided valuable help.
In one of the shootings, Joseph Jackson, 32, was found in the 1300 block of West 73rd Street with multiple gunshot wounds, Chicago police said.
The man was found with a gunshot wound to the head about 10 p.m. Thursday in the 10300 block of South Green Street.
In exhilarating Netflix documentary, LeBron James, Chris Bosh, Carmelo Anthony and others share memories of rebuilding Team USA.