Our Pledge To You

News

WATCH: Joel Quenneville loses his mind after goal waved off

Officials waved off Marian Hossa’s first-period goal Thursday night after determining that Hossa interfered with Arizona goaltender Louis Domingue before the puck crossed the goal line.

Blackhawks coach Joel Quenneville? Well, let’s just say he disagreed.

 

 

Check out the goal. There was contact, although it appeared to be minimal.

 

Here’s how the NHL explained the ruling:

“At 15:40 of the first period in the Blackhawks/Coyotes game, Arizona requested a Coach’s Challenge to review whether Marian Hossa interfered with goaltender Louis Domingue before the puck entered the net.

The Referee determined that Hossa interfered with Domingue before the puck crossed the goal line. According to Rule 78.7, “The standard for overturning the call in the event of a ‘GOAL’ call on the ice is that the Referee, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to ‘Interference on the Goalkeeper,’ as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4.”

Therefore the original call is overturned – no goal Chicago Blackhawks.”

Stats via ESPN