clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Worst sophomore slump ever? Daniel Palka gets only second hit of season in White Sox’ loss

Several of the Sox’ prospects have struggled at the plate this season, but no one has been worse than Palka.

After belting 27 home runs last season, Daniel Palka is 2-for-57 this season with the White Sox.
AP Photos

Several of the White Sox’ prospects have struggled at the plate this season, but no one has been worse than Daniel Palka.

Palka is hitting .035 (2-for-57) this season. His second hit, a single in the sixth inning of the Sox’ 6-3 loss Thursday to the Royals, ended an 0-for-21 slump. Palka’s only other hit this season came against the Royals on April 17.

What makes Palka’s struggles so bewildering is that he hit a team-leading 27 home runs as a rookie last season. And he hit .263 with 27 homers and 72 RBI this season at Class AAA Charlotte.

After being recalled this month, Palka said he felt more in sync after having success in the minors. He has yet to show that, however.

Manager Rick Renteria said he thinks Palka has had bad luck this season.

‘‘If I look at it across the board, probably some well-hit balls that didn’t fall in,’’ Renteria said. ‘‘He’s had some better at-bats and put some better contact. In time, they all just balance out. Hopefully, that’s the beginning of it.’’

Worth noting

The Sox nominated shortstop Tim Anderson for the Roberto Clemente Award, which goes to the major-leaguer who ‘‘best exemplifies the game of baseball, sportsmanship, community involvement and the individual’s contribution to his team.’’

Anderson, who will be honored on the Sox’ next homestand, pledged in May that he would donate $500 per stolen base to his League of Leaders charity as part of his Stealing Away at Senseless Violence fundraiser. Anderson has stolen 16 bases this season and donated $8,000.

First baseman Jose Abreu was the Sox’ nominee last season.

Another lost season

The Sox’ loss assured them of their seventh consecutive sub-.500 season. They have had only four winning seasons (2006, 2008, 2010 and 2012) since they won the World Series in 2005.