South Bend Cubs named Team of the Year by Ballpark Digest

SHARE South Bend Cubs named Team of the Year by Ballpark Digest

With booming attendance, park improvements and a successful season on the field it’s no wonder the Cubs were named the Team of the Year by Ballpark Digest. That’s the South Bend (Ind.) Cubs, by the way.

The Cubs’ Midwest League affiliate earned the minor league honor after setting a record for attendance this season with 347,678 fans at Four Winds Field. Quite a turnaround for a team that nearly closed its doors.

“It wasn’t that long ago that South Bend almost lost professional baseball,” said Ballpark Digest Publisher, Kevin Reichard in making the announcement. “Enter a committed owner, a talented front office and some strategic investments in the community and you have the biggest success story in Minor League Baseball.”

That owner is Chicago native Andrew T. Berlin who took over the team in 2011 and applied some of his practices from his successful packaging company to turning around the then Silver Hawks.

“This is thrilling. And as I continue to say, we owe so much to the fans who are coming from a hundred miles in every direction,” Berlin said. “And as the editors at Ballpark Digest point out, this has also been a great year for the City of South Bend which benefits financially from the success of the team more today than ever before. I’m proud of our executives who manage the team day-to-day. And I’m proud to tell you that we’re just getting started. We make no small plans in South Bend.”

Fly the W.

The Latest
The Hawks finished their season 23-53-6 — with the most losses in franchise history — after a 5-4 overtime defeat Thursday in Los Angeles. They ripped off three third-period goals to take the lead, but conceded late in regulation and then six seconds into overtime.
In moments, her 11th album feels like a bloodletting: A cathartic purge after a major heartbreak delivered through an ascendant vocal run, an elegiac verse, or mobile, synthesized productions that underscore the powers of Swift’s storytelling.
Sounds of explosions near an air base in Isfahan on Friday morning prompted fears of Israeli reprisals following a drone and missile strike by Iran on Israeli targets. State TV in Tehran reported defenses fired across several provinces.
Hall participated in Hawks morning skate Thursday — on the last day of the season — for the first time since his surgery in November. He expects to be fully healthy for training camp next season.