A number of Cubs officially named finalists for BBWAA awards

SHARE A number of Cubs officially named finalists for BBWAA awards

Even before the start of the postseason, it seemed obvious the Cubs would be bringing home plenty of individual honors at the end of the year. Now, with the season in the rear-view mirror, they are starting to roll in.

The Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) announced their awards finalists Tuesday night. Three members of the Cubs have a chance to take home some of the biggest awards.

Joe Maddon: NL Manager of the Year finalist

There may have been no one more responsible for the Cubs team personality and ability to win without any experience than Joe Maddon. In his first year with the Cubs, Maddon has already pointed the team in a winning direction. He is joined by Mets manager Terry Collins, and Cardinals manager Mike Matheny.

Jake Arrieta: NL Cy Young finalist

This one is a no brainer. While there is stiff competition among NL pitchers, Dodgers pitchers Zack Greinke and Clayton Kershaw were also named finalists, Arrieta clearly deserved to be a finalist. Many believe that because of his second half performance, Arrieta is the favorite.

Kris Bryant: NL Rookie of the Year

Not only was Bryant an obvious choice for a finalist, he is the odds on favorite to win the award. In fact, at this point, if Bryant doesn’t win it would be a pretty major surprise. Giants infielder Matt Duffy and Pirates shortstop Jung Ho Kang join Bryant as finalists.

Notably absent from the award finalists was Anthony Rizzo. The Cubs first baseman was not one of the finalists for the NL MVP. While no one expected him to win, many believed he would be a finalist. Arizona’s Paul Goldschmidt, Cincinnati’s Joey Votto and expected favorite Bryce Harper from the Nationals were the finalists.

The Latest
Officer Luis Huesca, 30, was returning home from work about 3 a.m. in the 3100 block of West 56th Street when a ShotSpotter alert went off, police Supt. Larry Snelling said. No one has been arrested.
Chicago Democrats Reps. Delia Ramirez, Jesus ‘Chuy’ Garcia and Jonathan Jackson, the most pro-Palestinian members of the Illinois delegation, voted no on aid to Israel. GOP Rep. Darin LaHood split from his party to support aid to Ukraine.
Latest class of inductees also will include Kool & The Gang, Ozzy Osbourne, the Dave Matthews Band and Peter Frampton.
On Monday afternoon, Welch raises money for the People for Emanuel ‘Chris’ Welch committee, with the ask ranging from $1,000 for a ticket to $68,500 from a political action committee.
Harry Jerele, 26, of Berkeley, died of pneumonia at a prison camp in the Philippines in 1942. Military scientists used DNA analysis and historical records to officially identify his remains in December. His remains will be interred in Elwood in October.