Public League breaks into two basketball ‘super conferences’

SHARE Public League breaks into two basketball ‘super conferences’

Ayo Dosunmu (11) from Morgan Park slashes by Simeon’s Talen Horton-Tucker (5) and Marquise Brown (2). Worsom Robinson/ For Sun-Times

The Chicago Public League will split its basketball conference alignment into two super conferences — the Red South Central and the Red North-West — beginning next season.

The Sun-Times obtained a copy of the new alignment on Thursday. The Red South-Central contains Bogan, Brooks, Vocational, Curie, Dunbar, Harlan, Hyde Park, Kenwood, Morgan Park and Simeon and the Red North-West contains Farragut, Lincoln Park, Marshall, North Lawndale, Orr, Prosser, Uplift, Von Steuben, Westinghouse and Young.

To read more about change, including reaction and the full breakdown, click here.

The Latest
From 1968 to today, volunteers in Chicago aim to connect visitors to their city, and to see some of the convention action themselves.
Couple considers leaving longtime hometown, and all the friends and neighbors there, to be more involved with their children and grandchildren.
The south suburb paid more than $200,000 to O.A.K.K. Construction Co., a Summit business whose president Alex Nitchoff awaits sentencing after pleading guilty in January to bribing a Cook County assessor’s office employee for property tax breaks.
The 23-year-old Shannon was accused of committing sexual assault last September while visiting Kansas for a football game between the Illini and the Jayhawks.