Chicago’s first Fifth Star Award winners named

SHARE Chicago’s first Fifth Star Award winners named

And the winners of the City of Chicago’s first Fifth Star Awards, established to honor individuals and institutions that have made major contributions to the city’s cultural life, have been named. They are:

Lou Conte, the teacher and choreographer who founded internationally acclaimed Hubbard Street Dance Chicago.

Richard Hunt, the sculptor.

Ramsey Lewis, the jazz musician.

Lois Weisberg, who served as Chicago’s Commissioner of Cultural Affairs.

The Auditorium Theatre, the architectural gem designed by Louis Sullivan and Dankmar Adler, that is celebrating its 125th anniversary this season.

The award winners were announced Wednesday afternoon at the Jay Pritzker Pavilion in Millennium Park. The Pavilion also will be the site of a free public celebration for the recipients to be held at 7 p.m. Sept. 17. A diverse lineup of talent will be on hand to pay tribute to the winners.

The Latest
Police were called to the school at 4460 Old Grand Avenue about 9:30 a.m. Friday when a student reported overhearing another student talking about having a gun, Gurnee police said, and a gun was then found in the student’s locker.
The Hawks produced one of their biggest offensive performances of the season Friday, but they still couldn’t escape their pattern of losses as they fell 3-2 in overtime.
Let’s see what they really have in terms of making a ‘playoff push.’