Postseason honors for girls lacrosse

SHARE Postseason honors for girls lacrosse

U.S. Lacrosse’s All-American selections:

First Team

New Trier: Molly Quirke, Sr., Midfield; Janie Gion, Jr., Attack. Loyola:

Molly Hulseman, Jr., Attack/Midfield; Grace Bowen, Sr., Attack/Midfield; Grace Dooley, Sr., Midfield; Colleen Smith (right), Sr., Midfield/Defense.

Honorable Mention

Loyola: Carolyn Maddock, Sr., Attack/Midfield. New Trier: Kelsey Murray, Fr., Attack/Midfield; Gwen Gummersall, Sr., Attack.

All-State selections:

First Team

Glenbrook South: Kerri Kofod, Sr., Midfield. Hinsdale Central: Dylan Voneiff, Jr., Attack/Mid. Loyola: Grace Bowen, Sr., Midfield; Grace Dooley, Sr., Midfield; Holly Hovanec, Sr., Midfield; Molly Hulseman, Jr., Attack/Mid.; Carolyn Maddock, Sr., Attack/Mid.; Colleen Smith, Sr., Mid./Def. Lake Forest: Megan Morre, Sr., Midfield. New Trier: Janie Gion, Jr., Attack; Gwen Gummersall, Sr., Attack; Kelsey Murray, Fr., Attack; Molly Quirke, Sr., Midfield; Erin Roos, Sr., Midfield. Oak Park: Olivia Thompson, Sr., Midfield.

Second Team

Glenbrook South: Elise Burchard, Sr., Midfield; Hinsdale Central: Catie Edwards, Sr., Defense; Libertyville: Kelsey Rupsch, Sr., Attack/Mid.; Loyola: Julia Cowan, Sr., Defense; Cara Dowdle, Sr., Defense; Nicole Gleason, Jr., Mid./Def.; Emily Mohr, Sr., Goalie; Lyons: Annie Mackey, Sr., Attack; Oak Park: Jasmine McBroom, Sr., Mid./Def.; Montini: Madeline Iadarola, Jr., Attack; New Trier: Taylor McGinnis, Jr., Mid./Def.; Jake Remien, Sr., Attack/Def.; Neuqua Valley: Liz Maluta, Sr., Defense; St. Charles: Meghan Brady, Jr., Midfield; St. Ignatius: Keeley McCarthy, Sr., Midfield.

Honorable Mention

Evanston: Shannon Kelly, Sr., Defense. Glenbrook South: Lauren Boettcher, Sr., Attack; Nicole Pullano (right), Jr., Defense. Hinsdale Central: Betsy Arnold, Jr., Attack. Lake Forest: Nicolette Lyons, Sr., Attack; Jordan Majka, Sr., Goalie. Lake Zurich: Katelyn Kearney, Sr., Attack/Mid. Loyola: Liz Kearney, Sr., Defense; Maggie McNair, Sr., Goalie. Lyons: Hannah Pigman, Sr., Attack. Neuqua Valley: Sr., Midfield. Oak Park: Rachel Shannon, Jr., Midfield. St. Charles: Katie Bogle, Jr., Midfield. St. Ignatius: Bridget Hannon, Sr., Attack; Cara Ross, Jr., Defense. Stevenson: Amy Hirth, Sr., Midfield.

Academic All-American state selections

Barrrington: MacKenzie McPike, Jr. Glenbrook South: Elise Burchard, Sr.; Holly Heitman, Sr.; Elizabeth Higley, Sr. Hinsdale Central: Catherine Edwards, Sr.; Dylan Voneiff, Jr.

Lake Forest: Krysti Kiesel, Sr.; Megan Moore, Sr. Loyola: Grace Bowen, Sr.; Carolyn Maddock , Sr.; Emily Mohr, Sr.; Margaret Perkaus, Jr.; Colleen Smith, Sr. Marian Catholic: Kim Hilger , Sr.; Emma Terrazas, Jr.; Meaghan Waldron, Sr. New Trier: Janie Gion, Jr.; Taylor McGinnis, Jr.; Molly Quirke, Sr.; Erin Roos, Sr. Oak Park: Jasmine McBroom, Sr.; Chiara Santiago, Jr.; Gaia Santiago, Jr.; Rachel Shannon, Jr.; Olivia Thompson, Sr. St. Ignatius: Bridget Hannon, Sr.; Krista Paplaczyk, Sr.

The Latest
Ariana Molina was with family celebrating a confirmation Saturday night when shots were fired. Ten people, including Ariana’s mother, were wounded. Police blame gangs for the shooting.
“In total, we had eight walks,” said manager Pedro Grifol. “It’s hard to win baseball games like that.”
Nick Nastrini was acquired from the Dodgers in the Lance Lynn and Joe Kelly trade.
Torian Pryor, 19, was shot April 1 in the 6700 block of South Cornell Avenue. His brother says the grieving family hasn’t had any information from University of Chicago hospital or police on how he died.
The Bulls gave the Knicks all they could handle before falling in overtime. Next up is Atlanta and the play-in game, as DeMar DeRozan & Co. hope to finally find that signature moment this season.