Pioneer Press’ Boys Soccer First and Second Teams

SHARE Pioneer Press’ Boys Soccer First and Second Teams

Pat Deroche

Jr. G, Barrington

The Illinois High School Soccer Coaches Association all-state selection helped the Broncos win an MSL West title and their first sectional championship since 2007. Deroche conceded just 10 goals this season, and he finished with 14 shutouts in 23 games.

Bret Lowry

Jr. D, Evanston

The all-state defender was the rock in the middle of Evanston’s stingy defense this season, helping the Wildkits win a CSL South title. Lowry, who is also dangerous on set pieces, showed the ability to lock down the opposition’s top scoring threat.

Tom Smith

Sr. D, Fenwick

The Friars weren’t able to replicate the success they had in 2012, but Smith remained steady on defense. The senior earned all-state honors for Fenwick, which dealt with a slew of injuries this year.

Allan Santiaguillo

Sr. D, Buffalo Grove

The Bison (8-9-6) struggled to hold possession and create chances all season, but they were in nearly every game. Santiaguillo, a center back, was a major reason why. The senior co-captain led Buffalo Grove, a No. 15 seed in the Class 3A Mundelein Sectional, on a Cinderella run to the sectional final.

Adam Cloe

Sr. M, Carmel

Cloe — the Pioneer Press Player of the Year — finished with 21 goals and 13 assists. The Drake recruit helped Carmel win three playoff games this year after the Corsairs lost in the first round of the postseason for three straight seasons.

Anthony Gulli

Jr. M, St. Joseph

The Warrenville resident finished his season with seven goals and 11 assists. Gulli was an all-Chicago Catholic League and an all-state selection this season.

John Moderwell

Sr. M, Lake Forest

The center midfielder committed to Northwestern earlier this year, and he wrapped up his high school career with 14 goals and eight assists for the Scouts. Moderwell, who earned all-state honors, was the creative force on a Scouts squad that won its first regional title since 2009.

Kurt Roemer, Jr.

Sr. M, Glenbrook South

The maestro of the Titans’ offense combined with DePaul recruit Kosta Brkovic to make up one of the state’s strongest duos in the midfield. Roemer Jr., who scored seven goals and had nine assists, was Glenbrook South’s first all-state selection in boys soccer since 2005.

Christian Meyer

Sr. F, Hinsdale Central

Meyer was the best offensive player on the Red Devils, who finished the regular season undefeated. Meyer ended his senior campaign with 17 goals and nine assists, and he was a all-state selection.

Matt Murphy

Sr. F, Lyons

The all-stater displayed elite instincts in the 18-yard box all season. Murphy finished with 21 goals and 10 assists as part of one of the state’s most dynamic offenses.

Chris Tovar

Sr. F, Nazareth

Tovar was the Roadrunners’ best offensive player a year ago, and he was regularly double- and triple-teamed this season. He still finished with 28 goals and seven assists.

Wes Bergevin, jr. G, Hinsdale Central

Eric Morales, sr. D, Mundelein

Mike Dobin, sr. D, Stevenson

Max Krohn, sr. D, Hinsdale Central

Emilio Godinez, sr. D, Lyons

Kosta Brkovic, sr. M, Glenbrook South

Jack Niestrom, jr. M, Hinsdale Central

Peter Campbell, sr. M, Glenbrook South

Tim Huettel, sr. F, Oak Park-River Forest

Albert Arabik, so. F, Leyden

Frankie Kocimski, sr. F, Lyons

The Latest
Man is upset that she’ll be standing up at the service along with her ex.
If Democrats wanted to change the rules for nominating candidates, they should have waited until 2025, a non-election year. Even then, it would need some lively debate. Oh, wait, maybe that’s what they were trying to avoid.
Thinking ahead to your next few meals? Here are some main dishes and sides to try.
Counsell left the Brewers as the all-time winningest manager in club history. In Milwaukee, his legacy comes down to culture and performance — and his admiration for his home and state.