Bears retain Mike Groh as WR coach; sign LB DeDe Lattimore to 2-year deal

SHARE Bears retain Mike Groh as WR coach; sign LB DeDe Lattimore to 2-year deal

Bears wide receivers coach Mike Groh has been retained for the 2015 season, the team announced Friday. Groh joins outside linebackers coach Clint Hurtt as holdovers from Marc Trestman’s staff.

Groh was hired in 2013 as part of Trestman’s original staff of assistants. In his two seasons, Alshon Jeffery made the Pro Bowl in 2013 (89 receptions, 1,421 yards, 16.0 average, seven touchdowns) and had another 1,000-yard season in 2014 (85-1,133, 13.3, 10 touchdowns).

Brandon Marshall made the Pro Bowl in 2013 (100-1,295, 13.0, 12). Marshall was limited by injuries in 2014 and had 61 catches for 721 yards, 11.8 average, eight touchdowns). Despite batting injuries, Marshall’s 20 touchdowns over the past two seasons are tied for seventh most in the NFL.

Under Groh, Marshall and Jeffery have combined for three of the top eight single-season receiving seasons in Bears history. Jeffery’s 1,421 yards in 2013 rank second all time behind Marshall’s 1,508 in 2012. Marshall’s 1,295 yards in 2013 are fifth all-time. Jeffery’s 1,133 yards in 2014 rank eighth on the Bears’ all-time list.

The Bears also announced that they have signed linebacker DeDe Lattimore to a two-year extension through the 2016 season. Lattimore played in 10 games with the Bears in 2014, recording five tackles on special teams.

The Latest
Woldmoe is the latest player to depart from the team after Vanessa DiBernardo, Danielle Colaprico, Morgan Gautrat and Rachel Hill all left in free agency.
Police haven’t reported any injuries in the shooting incident early Tuesday, though a law enforcement source said investigators were checking hospitals for gunshot victims.
Everywhere else throughout the college game, the quarterback movement is un-warm, un-fuzzy and absolutely dizzying.
Jafeth Ramos pleaded guilty to one count of armed robbery and agreed to testify against her former boyfriend, Diego Uribe, at his trial.
Lane, who was also an attorney, served as a judge and prosecutor before hosting a daytime courtroom TV show.