clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

R. Kelly to bump ‘n’ grind with Santa on first Christmas album

The cover of R. Kelly's "12 Nights of Christmas." | RCA Records

He believes he can fly — and reindeer can too.

Chicago R&B superstar R. Kelly announced Tuesday that he has recorded his first Christmas album, set for release Oct. 21.

“12 Nights of Christmas” will embody “a traditional Christmas sound accompanied by a variety of heartfelt love songs,” a statement from his publicists promised.

It’s a typically unpredictable move from the provocative artist known for bawdily seductive jams, the multi-chapter musical soap opera “Trapped in the Closet” and a 2008 acquittal on child pornography charges.

But there’s no sign of adult content on the track list, which includes such heartwarming titles as “Mrs. Santa Claus,” “I’m Sending You My Love for Christmas” and, echoing the aeronautical theme of his signature song, “Flyin’ on My Sleigh.” The holiday standards are conspicuously absent, with not a “Jingle Bells” or “Silent Night” to be found.

Here’s the full list:

1. “My Wish For Christmas”

2. “Snowman”

3. “Home For Christmas”

4. “Mrs. Santa Claus”

5. “I’m Sending You My Love For Christmas”

6. “Letters”

7. “Once Upon A Time”

8. “Greatest Gift”

9. “It’s Christmas Day”

10. “Christmas Lovin’ ”

11. “Flyin’ On My Sleigh”

12. “12 Nights of Christmas”