clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

WNBA announces starters for All-Star Game

The WNBA announced its captains and 10 starters for the 2019 All-Star Game. No Sky players made the cut.

Washington Mystics v Los Angeles Sparks
Elena Delle Donne has been voted to each All-Star Game played in her career, including three selections with the Chicago Sky and three with the Mystics. 
Katharine Lotze/Getty Images

The WNBA announced Thursday its 10 starters for the 2019 All-Star Game, and not a single Sky player made the cut.

Mystics center Elena Delle Donne and Aces forward A’ja Wilson headlined the group, which was selected by fans, WNBA players and media to start the game July 27 in Las Vegas.

The guards are Kayla McBride (Aces), Jewell Loyd (Storm), Chelsea Gray (Sparks) and Kia Nurse (Liberty). Natasha Howard (Storm), Jonquel Jones (Sun), Liz Cambage (Aces) and Brittney Griner (Mercury) will join Delle Donne and Wilson as frontcourt starters.

Sky guards Courtney Vandersloot and Diamond DeShields finished seventh and eighth, respectively, among backcourt starters. Their All-Star fate is in the hands of the WNBA coaches, who vote on the 12 reserves.

The coaches received their ballots Thursday. They’ll vote for three guards, five forwards and four players at either position, regardless of conference. Coaches aren’t allowed to vote for their own player. The reserves will be announced Monday.

Delle Donne and Wilson will pick their rosters from the pool of eight starters and 12 reserves at a later date.