What was the deal with that pylon touchdown call in the Michigan vs. Michigan State game?

SHARE What was the deal with that pylon touchdown call in the Michigan vs. Michigan State game?

Sitting in the newsroom watching the game, our little quorum of journalists could not believe when the referees went up to the replay booth and returned a touchdown call on the catch by Michigan’s Brandon Minor.

If we understand correctly, it was ruled a touchdown because Minor’s foot hit the pylon in the air. Our tiny brains thought that the receiver needed to establish contact with the ground in order for it to be a catch.

Judging by Michigan State coach Mark Dantonio’s reaction, he concurs.

Can anyone tell us the ruling on this? Do you agree or disagree with the call?

UPDATE: Looks like ABC has a team working on this. Here’s what they came up with:

The plot thickens.

The Latest
Seven lawsuits filed by former football players will be temporarily consolidated with a lawsuit filed by former head coach Pat Fitzgerald during the pretrial process.
The city is willing to put private interests ahead of public benefit and cheer on a wrongheaded effort to build a massive domed stadium — that would be perfect for Arlington Heights — on Chicago’s lakefront.
Art
The Art Institute of Chicago, responding to allegations by New York prosecutors, says it’s ‘factually unsupported and wrong’ that Egon Schiele’s ‘Russian War Prisoner’ was looted by Nazis from the original owner’s heirs.
April Perry has instead been appointed to the federal bench. But it’s beyond disgraceful that Vance, a Trump acolyte, used the Senate’s complex rules to block Perry from becoming the first woman in the top federal prosecutor’s job for the Northern District of Illinois.