Sitting in the newsroom watching the game, our little quorum of journalists could not believe when the referees went up to the replay booth and returned a touchdown call on the catch by Michigan’s Brandon Minor.
If we understand correctly, it was ruled a touchdown because Minor’s foot hit the pylon in the air. Our tiny brains thought that the receiver needed to establish contact with the ground in order for it to be a catch.
Judging by Michigan State coach Mark Dantonio’s reaction, he concurs.
Can anyone tell us the ruling on this? Do you agree or disagree with the call?
UPDATE: Looks like ABC has a team working on this. Here’s what they came up with:
The plot thickens.