Michelin announces the winners of city’s food stars

SHARE Michelin announces the winners of city’s food stars

Find out which restaurants in Chicago made the Michelin 2013 list for top honors.

It is a parsimonious list, awarding a total of 16 stars to the crowded Chicago restaurant universe, restaurant critic Michael Nagrant explains for the Sun-Times. By comparison, Michelin has awarded 34 stars in San Francisco and 52 stars in New York City.

It is a diverse Chicago list nonetheless, including modern gastronomy temples like Grant Achatz’ three-star Alinea and the now two-star L20 (which regained a star after losing one last year). It also includes places that conservative old diners love like Spiaggia (maintaining its one star) and Sixteen (earning its first star). It includes hipster temples like Longman & Eagle (one star) and Schwa (one star), and forward-thinking regional Mexican places like Mexique — one of the list’s bigger surprises — garnering its first star, and Topolobampo (one star).

But based on the buzz and protesting clamor of Twitter-crazy Chicagoans and buzzing foodies, the list of Michelin 2013 starred Chicago restaurants may not be a “best” list, Nagrant says.

What do you think? Did they nail it or not?

The Latest
Police identified the shooting suspect as Robert “Bobby” Crimo III, a 22-year-old who remained on the loose for more than eight hours after the attack in the affluent suburb’s downtown area.
Nicolas Toledo, a grandfather visiting family in Highland Park, was identified by his granddaughter as one of the people killed in the mass shooting at the Fourth of July parade in the northern suburb.
When government refuses to act, it betrays the ideals we celebrate on the Fourth.
The strike also is delaying road resurfacing around Chicago and projects including the Interstate 55 and Weber Road interchange and the Interstate 80 bridge in Joliet.
Home runs and sacrifice bunts are down. So are strikeouts, but that is almost entirely because of the National League using the DH.