clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Illinois elected officials, same-sex marriage groups take part in 'moneybomb' fundraising blitz

Same-sex marriage groups are joining up with elected officials today in what they’re calling a “fundraising blitz” in a larger effort to get same-sex marriage bill called for a vote.

They’re putting out a so-called “moneybomb” where “elected officials and organizations unite to send out a message

to all of their mailing lists in support of a specific effort. Today’s push will include an

update on the efforts to win passage in the fall veto session and will ask for a financial

contribution,” according to the Illinois Unites for Marriage.

The effort to get same-sex marriage passed in Illinois is far from a slam-dunk. Last session, the bill was not called for a vote for fear that there were not enough votes, angering dozens of same-sex couples who packed into the State Capitol. Groups including the Thomas More Society, Catholic Conference of Illinois and a group of African American ministers are among those continuing to lobby against the passage of same-sex marriage.

While the state Senate easily advanced the bill, the Illinois House did not call it for a vote. Few Republicans said they would endorse it and there was resistance within the Democratic Black Caucus.

Here are the lawmakers or Illinois officials who are joining the money blitz:

• Lt. Governor Sheila Simon

• Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle

• State Sen. Toi Hutchinson

• State Sen. Kwame Raoul

• State Sen. Mike Frerichs

Other officials participating include State Senators Heather Steans, Melinda Bush,

Daniel Biss, Don Harmon, and Julie Morrison; State Representatives Scott Drury, Elaine

Nekritz, Robyn Gabel, Sara Feigenholtz, and Laura Fine; Chicago Alderman James

Cappleman, Cook County Board of Review Commissioner Mike Cabonargi, Cook County

Commissioner Larry Suffredin, Metropolitan Water Reclamation District Commissioner

Debra Shore, Highland Park Mayor Nancy Rotering, Springfield Alderman Cory Jobe,

Highland Park Alderman Alyssa Knobel, Retired State Sen. Jeff Schoenberg, and more.