Two Cubs not named Jake Arrieta are favored to win awards

SHARE Two Cubs not named Jake Arrieta are favored to win awards

Despite his 12-day contract purgatory in the minors to start the season, Kris Bryant was a fait accompli to become the Cubs’ sixth Rookie of the Year. And, all Joe Maddon had to do was stay out of last place to win his third Manager of the Year Award. That’s probably why the two are odds-on-favorites to win their respective awards.

On the other hand, Jake Arrieta, the only 20-game winner in baseball, is the second-favorite to win the NL Cy Young Award, according to current odds from

NL Cy Young

Zack Greinke: 4/3

Jake Arrieta: 3/2

Clayton Kershaw: 4/1

AL Cy Young

David Price: 1/1

Dallas Keuchel: 7/5

Chris Archer: 9/1

NL Rookie of the Year

Kris Bryant: 7/9

Matt Duffy : 2/1

Jung Ho Kang: 7/1

AL Rookie of the Year

Carlos Correa: 3/8

Francisco Lindor: 3/1

AL Manager of the Year

Jeff Bannister: 4/3

AJ Hinch: 2/1

John Gibbons: 13/2

Joe Girardi: 13/2

NL Manager of the Year

Joe Maddon: 2/5

Terry Collins: 3/1

The Latest
The wounded were in the 400 block of South Wells Street about 1:45 a.m. when they were shot.
A man and woman were on the sidewalk in the 4600 block of South Ellis Avenue about 10:40 p.m. when someone opened fire, striking them both.
The 29-year-old was taken to the University of Chicago Medical Center, where he was pronounced dead, police said.