clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Bears to report for training camp July 27; 1,000 fans per day allowed at Halas Hall

The team announced 14 open practices at Halas Hall with free tickets available through a lottery system.

This will be the Bears’ first open training camp at Halas Hall since renovating it in 2019.
Annie Costabile

The Bears will report for training camp July 27, and the will have 14 practices open to the public at Halas Hall. This will be the team’s first open training camp at the facility after moving on from their off-site home in Bourbonnais.

While it will be a smaller crowd and perhaps a better viewing experience than what the Bears offered at Olivet Nazarene University, the NFL’s coronavirus protocol bars fans from being in close proximity with players, so there won’t be autographs or selfies.

The first open practice will be at 9 a.m. July 29, and the Bears will host up to 1,000 fans each day. Registration for free tickets begins at noon July 8. Fans are eligible to win up to four tickets to one practice.

With minimal road access to the facility in Lake Forest and limited parking, fans will have to park at Hawthorn Mall and take a free shuttle to Halas Hall.

They will also practice Aug. 3 at Soldier Field for their annual Family Fest.

The Bears are expected to hold joint practices with the Dolphins leading up to their Aug. 14 preseason game at Soldier Field, but those practices are closed to the public.

They will have open practices even once the preseason games begin, but will close the facility to the public after their Aug. 25 practice.

Here are the practices the public can attend:

Thu., July 29, 9 a.m.
Fri., July 30, 9 a.m.
Sat., July 31, 9 a.m.
Mon., Aug. 2, 8:30 a.m.
Tue., Aug. 3, 11 a.m. (Family Fest at Soldier Field)
Thu., Aug. 5, 8:30 a.m.
Fri., Aug. 6, 8:30 a.m.
Sat., Aug. 7, 8:30 a.m.
Sun., Aug. 8, 8:30 a.m.
Mon., Aug. 16, 8:30 a.m.
Tue. Aug. 17, 8:30 a.m.
Wed., Aug. 18, 8:30 a.m.
Mon., Aug. 23, 8:30 a.m.
Tue., Aug. 24, 8:30 a.m.
Wed., Aug. 25, 8:30 a.m.