clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Obama taps Chicago fundraiser Schapiro to be Czech ambassador

WASHINGTON–President Barack Obama tapped one of his major 2012 fundraisers, Chicago attorney Andrew Schapiro, to be the next ambassasdor to the Czech Republic.

Schapiro, with Tamar Newberger raised more than $500,000 for Obama, putting them in the elite ranks of “bundlers,” people who use their extensive network of contacts to raise money from other people for a campaign.

Obama tapped another Chicago bundler, Bruce Heyman last year to be the next ambassador to Canada. His hearing was not controversial. Heyman’s confirmation vote in the Senate is stalled--part of a bigger political battle between Senate Democrats and Republicans that is not about Heyman.

From the White House…

Andrew H. Schapiro, Nominee for Ambassador to the Czech Republic, Department of State

Andrew H. Schapiro is a partner at the international law firm Quinn Emanuel Urquhart and Sullivan, LLP. He was a partner at Mayer Brown, LLP from 1998 to 2011, and served as a trial attorney with the Federal Public Defender’s Office in Manhattan from 1993 to 1998. Mr. Schapiro served as a Law Clerk to U.S. Supreme Court Justice Harry A. Blackmun from 1992 to 1993 and Judge Richard A. Posner of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit from 1991 to 1992. He also served on the Criminal Justice Act Advisory Board of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit in New York, the Board of Directors of the Chicago Low-Income Housing Trust Fund, and the Board of Directors of the Jewish Council on Urban Affairs. Mr. Schapiro received a B.A. from Yale College, an M.A from Oxford University, and a J.D. from Harvard Law School.

OBAMA TOP BUNDLERS: From Illinois, raising $500,000 plus for the Obama 2012 campaign are: Neil Bluhm; Wally Brewster and Bob Satawake; Steve Cohen; Les Coney; Kevin Conlon; James Crown; Fred Eychaner; Rajiv Fernando; Vicki and Bruce Heyman; Jill and John Levi; Lee Miller; Chaka Patterson; Penny Pritzker; Laura Ricketts; John Rogers Jr. and Mellody Hobson; Michael Sacks; Andy Schapiro and Tamar Newberger; Amy Singh; David Solow; Alan Solow; Grace Tsao-Wu.