Associated Press 3A and 4A All-State boys basketball teams

SHARE Associated Press 3A and 4A All-State boys basketball teams
SHARE Associated Press 3A and 4A All-State boys basketball teams

MOLINE –- Here are the Class 3A and Class 4A All-State boys’ basketball teams in Illinois as voted on by a statewide panel of sports writers and broadcasters and compiled by Steve Tappa of The Moline Dispatch and The Rock Island Argus. Players received five points for a first-place vote and three points for a second-place vote. A player must have been named on two ballots to receive honorable mention. There were 20 voters in 3A and 19 voters in 4A. No players were unanimous selections. All media members in the state were eligible to nominate and vote for players. Note: There were unbreakable ties for the final spot on the 3A first team (*), between four players for the final three spots on the 3A second team (**), and among four players for the final two spots on the 4A second team (***). The definition of an unbreakable tie: The same number of votes, first-team votes and second-team votes.

Name, School (Ht., Yr., Pos.) Points


Jalen Brunson, Stevenson (6-2, Sr., G) 81

Charles Matthews, St. Rita (6-6, Sr., F) 73

Ed Morrow, Simeon (6-7, Sr., F) 56

Evan Boudreaux, Lake Forest (6-8, Sr., F) 56

Aaron Jordan, Plainfield East (6-3, Sr., G) 54


Admiral Schofield, Zion-Benton (6-5, Sr., F) 40

Nate Navigato, Geneva (6-7, Sr., F) 34

Tyler Hall, Rock Island (6-5, Sr., G) 33

***Donovan Franklin, O’Fallon (6-5, Sr., G) 29

***Prentiss Nixon, Bolingbrook (6-1, Sr., G) 29

***Alex Peacock, Normal (6-7, Sr., F) 29

***Laytwan Porter, Rockford Auburn (6-0, Sr., G) 29

CLASS 4A HONORABLE MENTION (18 total; In order of points)

Connor Cashaw, Stevenson (6-3, Sr., G) 27; Tyler Seibring, Normal (6-8, Sr., F) 27; Matt Rafferty, Hinsdale Central (6-8, Sr., F) 24; Roland Griffin, West Aurora (6-5, Sr., G/F) 17; Joseph Toye, Young (6-6, Sr., G/F) 12; Barrett Benson, Hinsdale South (6-11, Jr., C) 11; Miles Boykin, Providence (6-5, Sr., F) 11; Alonzo Verge Jr., Willowbrook (6-1, Soph., G) 10; Rapolas Ivanauskas, Barrington (6-8, Jr., F) 8; Trevor Stumpe, Plainfield North (6-5, Sr., G) 8; Bailey Basala, Moline (6-4, Soph., G) 6; Micah Bradford, Bradley-Bourbonnais (6-0, Jr., G) 6; Isaac Gassman, Ottawa (6-4, Jr., G/F) 6; Cole Gentry, St. Charles East (6-0, Sr., G) 6; Lamont Mitchell, East Moline United (6-3, Sr., F) 6; Chrishawn Orange, Algonquin Jacobs (6-2, Sr., G) 6; George Sargeant, Maine South (6-7, Sr., F) 6; Jeremiah Tilmon, East St. Louis (6-10, Soph., C) 6.

— NOTE: Also receiving a vote (but not receiving honorable mention): Nylek Cobb, Rockford Auburn; Deondre Rickman, Collinsville; Karl Harris, De La Salle; Nojel Eastern, Evanston.


Marcus LoVett Jr., Morgan Park (6-1, Sr., G) 89

Luwane Pipkins, Bogan (5-10, Sr., G) 79

Jordan Goodwin, Belleville Althoff (6-4, Soph., F) 69

Joseph Kellen, Rockford Lutheran (6-1, Sr., G) 56

*Jordan Ash, St. Joseph (6-3, Sr., G) 55

*Gavin Block, Lincoln (6-5, Sr., F) 55


Glynn Watson, St. Joseph (6-1, Sr., G) 47

Isaiah Roby, Dixon (6-8, Jr., F) 33

**Cole Harper, Chatham Glenwood (6-5, Sr., G) 32

**Drew Himmelman, Geneseo (6-9, Sr., F) 32

**Nate Kennell, Metamora (6-4, Jr., G) 32

**Zach Knobloch, Marengo (6-0, Jr., G) 32

CLASS 3A HONORABLE MENTION (18 total; In order of points)

Xavier Bishop, Springfield Lanphier (5-8, Jr., G) 26; Allen Billinger, Carbondale (5-11, Sr., G) 16; Nate Wieting, Rockford Lutheran (6-4, Sr., F/C) 14; DaMonte Williams, Peoria Manual (6-1, Soph., G) 12; Charlie Moore, Morgan Park (5-11, Jr., G) 10; Tommy Lucca, Genoa-Kingston (6-0, Jr., G) 9; Conner Diedrich, Mahomet-Seymour (6-1, Sr., G) 8; Braden Fitzjerells, Mt. Vernon (5-6, Jr., G) 8; Ryan Obermeier, Centralia (6-1, Sr., G) 8; Taylor Adway, Hillcrest (6-8, Sr., F) 6; Nick Coleman, St. Patrick (6-1, Sr., G) 6; Romon Douglas-Watkins, Peoria Manual (6-5, Soph., F) 6; Brendon Gooch, Belleville Althoff (6-5, Jr., G) 6; Pete Hanley, Peoria Notre Dame (6-6, Sr., F) 6; Terrion Howard, Champaign Centennial (6-2, Sr., G) 6; Jakob Lowrance, Bethalto Civic Memorial (6-7, Sr., C) 6; Keymonta Johnson, Decatur MacArthur (6-3, Jr., F) 6; Kenneth Perkins, North Lawndale (6-9, Sr., C) 6.

— NOTE: Also receiving a vote (but not receiving honorable mention): Nick Rakocevic, St. Joseph; Obediah Church, Springfield; Tate Nohren, Olney East Richland; Adam Pischke, Marian Central; Lou Griffith, Washington, Ill.; Tarkus Ferguson, Belleville Althoff.

The Latest
Since Morel made his MLB debut last week, he’s played four different defensive positions: third base, second, shortstop and center field.
Travis Cook, 53, faces a count of first-degree murder in the stabbing of a 43-year-old man on Monday at the Clinton Street station, Chicago police said.
At first, the group was mainly concerned with marksmanship. It later played a relatively constructive role regarding safety-minded gun ownership restrictionsm before turning into a rigid politicized force.
Cubs manager David Ross also provided more information on Caleb Kilian’s timeline for a big-league call-up.
To Cubs fans, the network has had negative connotations since its inception, created as an additional revenue stream. After it removed critical commentary from “The Reporters” on Sunday, Marquee now has a credibility problem.