U.S. Rep. Tammy Duckworth, D-Ill., addresses the Democratic National Convention in Charlotte, North Carolina, on Tuesday, Sept. 4, 2012. (AP Photo/J. Scott Applewhite)

Duckworth, Krishnamoorthi, Schneider sworn into Congress today

SHARE Duckworth, Krishnamoorthi, Schneider sworn into Congress today
SHARE Duckworth, Krishnamoorthi, Schneider sworn into Congress today

WASHINGTON – The 115th Congress convenes on Tuesday with three new Illinois Democrats sworn in: Tammy Duckworth will be a freshman Illinois senator, while Brad Schneider and Raja Krishnamoorthi join the U.S. House of Representatives.

Vice President Joe Biden gave Duckworth and other new senators the oath of office, as one of his last official acts before leaving office Jan. 20.

The 114th Congress ended at noon EST as new and re-elected members of the 115th Congress are sworn in to begin their terms.

Duckworth moves up from the House after defeating Republican Sen. Mark Kirk.

Krishnamoorthi replaces Duckworth as the lawmaker from the northwest suburban 8th District.

Schneider returns to the House to represent the north suburban 10th District after a two-year absence. Schneider beat Republican Rep. Bob Dold in their 2016 November rematch, while Dold defeated Schneider in 2014. Their first face-off was in 2012 when Schneider bested Dold. They willeach will have two 10th district terms.

There are no new Illinois Republicans joining the congressional delegation.Both the House and Senate are controlled by Republicans.

Illinois has 18 members of Congress. Duckworth joins fellow Democrat Sen. Dick Durbin representing Illinois in the Senate.

The Illinois House Delegation for the 115th Congress

District Member Party

  1. Bobby Rush, Democrat
  2. Robin Kelly, Democrat
  3. Dan Lipinski, Democrat
  4. Luis Gutierrez, Democrat
  5. Mike Quigley, Democrat
  6. Peter Roskam, Republican
  7. Danny Davis, Democrat
  8. Raja Krishnamoorthi, Democrat
  9. Jan Schakowsky, Democrat
  10. Brad Schneider, Democrat
  11. Bill Foster, Democrat
  12. Mike Bost, Republican
  13. Rodney Davis, Republican
  14. Randy Hultgren, Republican
  15. John Shimkus, Republican
  16. Adam Kinzinger, Republican
  17. Cheri Bustos, Democrat
  18. Darin LaHood, Republican

The Latest
Thinking ahead to your next few meals? Here are some main dishes and sides to try.
The team will celebrate its 2021 WNBA championship with a ceremony at Wintrust Arena.
Patrick Wisdom has homered in four straight games, a feat no Cub has accomplished since Anthony Rizzo in 2015.
Our children have a right to expect more from our leaders, especially in the home of the world’s first juvenile court.