clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

More film awards coming: Broadcast Critics announce nominations

North Shore native Bruce Dern is among the best actor nominees for the Critics Choice Award, to be presented by the Broadcast Film Critics Association Jan. 16.

The Broadcast Film Critics Association — the nation’s largest group of movies critics — announced their nominations Monday for the upcoming Critics Choice Awards, airing on the CW Network Jan. 16 — just hours after the Academy Award nominations are revealed.

“American Hustle” and “12 Years A Slave” led with 13 Critics Choice Award nominations each, followed by “Gravity” with 10 nods. Along with those three films, “Captain Phillips,” “Dallas Buyers Club,” “Her,” “Inside Llewyn Davis,” “Nebraska,” “Saving Mr. Banks” and “The Wolf of Wall Street” were nominated for best picture.

The best actor nominations went to Christian Bale (“American Hustle”), Bruce Dern (“Nebraska”), Chiwetel Ejiofor (“12 Years A Slave”), Tom Hanks (“Captain Phillips”), Matthew McConaughey (“Dallas Buyers Club”) and Robert Redford (“All Is Lost”).

For best actress, the nominations went to Cate Blanchett (“Blue Jasmine”), Sandra Bullock (“Gravity”), Judi Dench (“Philomena”), Brie Larson (“Short Term 12”), Meryl Streep (“August: Osage County”) and Emma Thompson (“Saving Mr. Banks”).

Besides North Shore native Bruce Dern, other nominations with Chicago-area connections included a best supporting actress nomination for former longtime Chicago resident Oprah Winfrey (“Lee Daniels’ The Butler”), Steppenwolf Theatre ensemble member Tracy Letts for best adapted screenplay for “August: Osage County” (which previously won him the Pulitzer Prize and Tony Award for his play upon which he based the film’s script), Plainfield’s own Melissa McCarthy for bst actress in a comedy (“The Heat”) and Steve Traxler, producer of “August: Osage County.”

The late James Gandolfini was nominated posthumously for two awards — best supporting actor and best actor in a comedy, both nods for “Enough Said.”

For the complete list of nominations go to