Groupings and tee times announced for the Open

Tee times and the groupings for the British Open were announced Monday morning.

Henrik Stenson will begins his Open title defense at 3:47 a.m. CT, alongside two-time major champion Jordan Spieth and Players champion Si Woo Kim.

The 146th Open, which will tee-off Thursday at Royal Birkdale in Southport, England, will start with Mark O’Meara, 60, at 6:35 a.m. local time. The 1998 Open and Masters champion will be playing alongside American Ryan Moore and England’s Chris Wood. Moore has only one top-25 finish out of his seven appearances at the Open. While on the other hand, Wood has three top-25 finishes in six events.

Another notable group is Sergio Garcia, Zach Johnson and Jason Day. They will tee off at 7:04 a.m. CT.

Jordan Spieth walks to the 18th green during his third round on day three of the 2016 British Open Golf Championship at Royal Troon in Scotland. | Ben Stansall/Getty Images

Garcia is assured of a most memorable year with a Masters victory in April and marriage a week after the British Open. Even sweeter would be to add his name to a Hall of Fame list of players to win the green jacket and claret jug in the same year.

Rickie Fowler’s group with Adam Scott and Paul Casey will start at 8:26 a.m.

Following Fowler’s grouping will be Rory McIlroy, Dustin Johnson and Charl Schwartzel. They are set to begin at 8:48 a.m. CT.

Unlike the U.S. Open and PGA Championship, all players tee off the first whole, rather than using a two-tee start. The groupings will remain the same for the second round, with groups going in reverse order of the first-round tee time.

The Open field is set at 156 players.

Contributing: Associated Press

Follow me on Twitter: @madkenney