New Illinois driving laws to begin in 2017
Subscribe for unlimited digital access.
Try one month for $1!
Subscribe for unlimited digital access. Try one month for $1!
A handful of new Illinois driving laws will go into effect at the start of the new year.
Scott’s Law, also referred to as the “move over” law, requires drivers to slow down or change lanes when driving by a stopped emergency vehicle. Beginning in 2017, the law also will include any vehicle on the side of the road with hazard lights flashing, according to a statement from the Illinois State Police.
Speeding through a work or school zone could warrant jail time, police said. Speeding between 26 mph and 35 mph over the posted limit is a Class B misdemeanor and driving more than 35 mph is now considered a Class A misdemeanor.
Those who have been convicted of driving without insurance could have their vehicle impounded if they are stopped by police within 12 months of the first citation, according to police.
“The new year usually brings new resolutions and goals,” ISP Director Leo P. Schmitz said in a statement. “In 2017 the ISP resolves to continue to work towards strengthening safe driving habits for motorists on Illinois roadways.”
Also starting Jan. 1, fines will double for drivers caught trying to go around lowered railroad crossing gates, according to a statement from Metra. Under a new amendment to the Illinois Vehicle Code, drivers who disregard activated gates and warning lights at railroad crossings will face a fine of $500 for a first offense and $1,000 for subsequent offenses.
For a complete list of laws that will be enacted in 2017, go to the Illinois General Assembly website.